#9 JooBee's newsletter

TL;DR

🙅🏻‍♀️ Founders, why you should say ‘no’ and when

🚫 I had to say ‘no’ to help Lauren develop

❓ Your views on saying ‘no’

This newsletter edition is brought to you by Hawkwood 💛

Question: I'm already feeling stretched for time and we've set ambitious goals for this year. Budget constraints mean I can't hire more people, but my workload keeps piling up. As the Founder, it feels like I am needed everywhere at once.

How can I accomplish more with the resources I have?

Founder

Founders, why you should say ‘no’ and when

This is one of the most significant (and common) dilemmas faced by every founder I collaborate with. In the early stages of STARTing to build the business, founders often thrive because they defy limitations. Their willingness to say ‘yes’ to possibilities that others might decline unleashes opportunities.

However, once a founder has honed the right idea and achieved product-market fit, the focus shifts from STARTing to build to BUILDing to scale - for both the product, go-to-market and the organisation. At this critical juncture, founders must transition from constantly saying "yes" to strategically saying ‘no’. 

Beneath every 'yes' lies an unspoken 'no’ 

You might be thinking, "It's easy for JooBee to say this." Trust me, though; I'm human, and I also rely on a coach to help me maintain focus when self-discipline falters. Here's some food for thought:

When we say ‘yes’, we're unwittingly saying ‘no’ to something else - something potentially more important!

To illustrate the point: when you say yes to every customer, instead of focusing on your Ideal Customer Profile (ICP), you end up spreading your resources thin. This can hinder your ability to serve your core customers exceptionally well, and that's where the magic happens. Serving one type of customer superbly can lead to referrals and new customers. So, strategically saying ‘no’ can pave the way for long-term success.

When to say ‘No’?  

When a new PRODUCT isn't a good idea: I’ve seen enthusiastic founders thinking, “I could build 10 products at once.” But in reality, it's like trying to build 10 houses simultaneously. Instead of completing 4 houses in a year, you're left with 10 partially built ones. Always ask yourself whether the new product aligns with your overall business goals.

When you should not take on a new CUSTOMER: It's tough to turn down paying customers, I get it. But if they don't fit your ICP, you risk diverting resources from your core audience. Remember, resources and capacity are limited, so prioritising your ICP is key.

Saying no to customers that do not fit your ideal customer profile is vital at every stage of the business. We encourage our companies to be “uncomfortably narrow” in the customers they choose to sell to and build for. Customers who do not fit, will bend you out of shape and then churn. What a waste.

Stephen Millard, Operating Partner at Notion Capital

When an EMPLOYEE is not the right fit: Admitting that someone on your team isn't right – whether due to rapid hiring or evolving roles – can be challenging. But it's essential to maintain a productive (right capabilities) and cohesive workplace (right values). When this happens, employees get it; the key is to handle it with compassion and kindness. 

How to say 'No' more confidently 

Have a clear north star: When you have a well-defined core mission, vision and North Star metric, it serves as your guiding light, helping you maintain focus. Each day, when confronted with distractions or tough decisions, you can ask yourself the crucial question: "Does this support my ultimate goal?" With a clear sense of the end goal you're working towards, saying "No" becomes a more manageable task.

🎯Focus on things only you can do: Your capacity and time are finite and limited; you can't create more time. Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should. Let me emphasise this: Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should. Say no to tasks your team can handle - delegate! They will appreciate it, as they rely on you to fulfil your role so they can fulfil theirs.

💥Think Leverage: You can't conjure extra time out of thin air, but you can accomplish more in less time by embracing the concept of leverage. Consider how you can leverage the 6 Foundations (strategy, structure, processes, working methods, data, and capabilities). For instance:

  • Could restructuring your workflow enable you to achieve more?

  • Can automating your processes help you accomplish more?

  • Is there room for redesigning and improving your ways of working?

Therefore, concentrate your efforts on saying ‘yes’ to initiatives that enable you to achieve more with less, and confidently decline those that do not align with this principle.

Mastering ‘no’ directs your effort toward vital goals

Shifting from a constant ‘yes’ approach to a strategic ‘no’ mindset is essential not only for founders but also for every leader in start-ups. Understanding trade-offs, choosing the right moments to decline and implementing strategies to concentrate on the most critical tasks necessary are all key factors contributing to long-term success.

I had to say ‘no’ to help Lauren develop

Back in 2019, when I was building the PeX Product Development (PPD) team, Peter from Hawkwood was pulling his hair out, scouring the realm for talent in a role that was almost unheard of!

And that's when he found Lauren Gomes! Right from her interview presentation, it was clear - Lauren was the fit I’d been searching for. Within just 10 months of joining the team and proving her leadership skills, she was promoted to lead the PPD team. 

Here's a snippet from her promotion letter. Those who know her will recognise her love for Harry Potter:

If I were a Sorting Hat🧙‍️, I would have a hard time placing you in a House. You demonstrated hard work 💪 and patience in pulling together complex projects such as Onboarding 2.0 and Performance Snapshot; these are qualities of a Hufflepuff. On the other hand, your leadership in building a high-performing PPD team, influencing complex stakeholders, and your resourcefulness in driving initiatives forward tell me you should be in Slytherin. 🤔 But you also showed the courage and bravery of a Gryffindor when you took on the PeX Lead 🤠 responsibilities for the first time and presented in the Show & Tell on DEI in front of the whole company 👏. Or could it be you are a Ravenclaw with your passion for learning, as demonstrated in every project you took on, requiring you to grow and stretch your skills. Ah! I forgot the fifth House! 💡 This is where all your epic wizarding skills come together in one house: PeX Team! In 2021, I look forward to continue seeing you ‘brew’ creative people experience, ‘cast’ engaging spells on our peeps, ‘hex’ limiting beliefs away, and ‘transfigure’ the PPD team to the next level!

JooBee

Next destination: Head of People

After her promotion, Lauren continued to deliver results on impactful projects and expand her team. I knew Lauren's sights were set on becoming a Head of People.

During one of our quarterly planning meetings, one of the projects we were mapping out was Phase 2 of our performance management rollout. It involved designing Manager workshops on how to have effective performance conversations. In the scoping, Lauren tasked herself to design and deliver that workshop.

But, I had to say 'no' and suggested she outsource the workshop to our training partner. Initially, Lauren was disappointed 😞, thinking I didn't trust her judgment. Far from it! Lauren is brilliant at designing workshops, and the ones she delivers are loved by managers and employees alike.

“Designing workshops, especially about the topic of performance was my SWEET SPOT. 

I couldn’t remotely fathom why JooBee wouldn’t want me to do this. In my mind, it’d be infinitely quicker and easier for me to design the workshops, so why on earth would I need an outside 3rd party to do this when I can do it so well myself?!

I knew the business already and I honestly thought it would take longer to brief a third party and review their work vs do it myself… 😂 and besides, I’m a team player, I felt compelled to take on a significant proportion of the workload, otherwise my team members would surely think I’m lazy... right?”

Lauren Gomes, VP of People at BARB

Saying ‘yes’ would have meant Lauren would have done what she’s always done

I helped her understand why she should say ‘no’ because, while she can deliver a fantastic workshop, two important things needed consideration: 

1️⃣ Performance - As a team leader, Lauren’s greatest impact lay in designing the performance management strategy, not executing it herself. Her focus needed to shift towards enabling her team to deliver it, alongside the many other projects on her plate.

2️⃣ Development - Lauren's aspiration was to become a Head of People, and to make that leap, she had to multiply her impact. This involves improving her team’s 6 Foundations and collaborating with other team leaders to create alignment for her team. So, here’s what she concentrated on:

  • Structure: Implementing a clear product development workflow to ship people products quickly to our employees

  • Processes: Collaborating with the People Ops manager to review and optimise systems and processes to enhance the onboarding experience.

  • Data: Embedded user research to gather data and insights, helping prioritise work that matter most to our business and employees.

Saying ‘no’ to what Lauren already knows, so she can ‘yes’ to growth

Coaching Lauren to say ‘no’, allowed her to focus on the things that only she can do - and should do - to deliver the highest impact.

This shift in focus not only elevated her performance but also accelerated her development of crucial skills for the next role she aspired to. In just 5 short months, Lauren stepped into the role of Head of People at Learnerbly - where she continued to weave her magic and shape her destiny in the ever-dynamic world of start-ups. 

“What a light bulb moment this was, it’s one that will stay with me forever. If I had designed that series of workshops, I would have missed out on focusing my time elsewhere in a way that enabled me to stretch my own capabilities and help my team.

It has been one of the most powerful learnings I ever had. To continue to say ‘no’ I have to remind myself why my role exists in the first place; to enable others. I often ask ‘Is this the the best use of my time?’ or ‘Am I taking an opportunity to learn away from someone else if I do this myself?’

Without this key learning, I wouldn’t have been able to be successful in any of my leadership roles.”

Lauren Gomes, VP of People at BARB

What do you think❓

Do you feel you say 'no' often enough to prioritise the most high-impact tasks?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

🔗 LinkedIn | 🌎 JooBee’s blog | 🤝 Work with me